French Lentil and Vegetable Soup

Tis the season for soup. I have been making lots lately. So tonight, I’ve decided to go with a French lentil and vegetable soup. I’ve found that adding lentils to my regular vegetable soup makes for a hearty and warming classic.

Ingredients:

1 yellow onion diced

2 chopped garlic cloves

2 chopped carrots

2 chopped tomatoes

1 chopped stalk of celery

2 chopped zucchini

1 cup lentils

4 cups of broth (I used chicken, but vegetable is perfect)

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

1/2tsp dried thyme

2tbsp olive oil
Directions:

Rinse the lentils and set aside. In a pot, heat olive oil on medium. Add the onion, celery, and carrots, salt, and pepper, and thyme. Sauté for a few minutes until aromatic and softened. Add the garlic and sauté just another minute. Add your tomato and zucchini and sauté another minute. Pour the broth in and add your lentils. Bring to a boil, cover, reduce to a simmer and cook 20minutes until lentils are tender.

Leave a comment